IIM Kozhikode Interview

April 17, 2008

Institute: IIM Kozhikode

Venue: IIM Bangalore

Date and time: 4th March 2008, 02:00 Pm

No of ppl in the Group: 9 + 1 absentee

GD topic: How corporate houses should help persons set up small entrepreneur ventures.

GD was ok sorts.. All of us had a few points to make and it was quiet peaceful. I too made two points. Nothing special otherwise. Feel every one made a decent entry.

Rating: 6/10

PI:

Panel Members:

Enter and wish them all.

P1: How tall are you?

Me: I’m 185 cm tall.

P1: What’s’ your height in foot?

Me: 6foot 1 sir..

P1: Which position do you play in basket ball?

Me : pivot..

P2: What do you do in whirlpool?

Me: Told..

P2: What is the turnover of your company? And he asked some other info about the

company..

Me: Quiet a lot of info about th company which I cannot put down here..

P2: So have you played basket ball professionally?

Me: No sir, I have played for my college and have played for a club in local tournaments.

P1: As a mechanical engineer I expect you to be strong in thermodynamics, but you seem to have an arrear in this paper.

Me: Told them that Our university did not consider the paper as an arrear and showed him the proof,,

P1: Give me the heat diffusion equation

Me: (Think for some time.) there are three different things for single dimension, two dimension and 3 dimensional diffusion. I don remember the exact formula, but I know it is a factor of the following – Temp of body, Surrounding temp, Surface area, conductivity of material, etc…

P1: So tell me what do you think that you studied in engineering, will you be able to use in your MBA?

Me: Operations will definitely be useful. Also some math we studied in our college.

P1: Gives me a 4 x 3 matrix and asks me to find the determinant value.

P1: So tell me what do you think that you studied in engineering, will you be able to use in your MBA?

Me: sir, this is not possible as the determinant value can only be found out for a square matrix.

P1: Tell me an equation that has positive value in first differentiation and negative in the second. Draw it on the paper.

Me: I take 2 min to think and draw a curve in the 4th quadrant.

P1: I want it in the first quadrant.

Me: I take another minute to think before drawing the curve.

They both Look at each other and ask me to Leave

Rating: 7/10

Result: <will update once it comes>

Leave a comment